Ballon d’Or 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo wins award for 5th time ahead of Messi and Neymar

To Subscribe

Ballon d’Or 2017: Cristiano Ronaldo wins award for 5th time ahead of Messi and Neymar

The Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo was voted the best player in the world once again - edging out Lionel Messi and Neymar for the fifth time - and the second year in a row.

Victory took the 32-year-old Portugal international level with 30-year-old Argentine Messi, who won the most recent of his five awards in 2015.

Messi's ex-Barcelona team-mate Neymar, now at Paris St-Germain, was third.

Ronaldo won his first prize in 2008 before successes in 2013, 2014 and 2016 and Messi is the only other recipient of the award since 2009.

'This is something I look forward to every year,' he said, after receiving the award on the Eiffel Tower in Paris.

'Thanks to my Real Madrid team-mates. And I want to thank the rest of the people who helped me reach this level.'

The 2016-17 campaign was a stellar season for the former Manchester United player.

After helping Portugal win Euro 2016, he scored 42 goals for Real in all competitions as they won their 33rd La Liga title and 12th European Cup.

He scored twice in a 4-1 Champions League final win over Juventus and netted 25 times in 29 league games as Los Blancos finished three points ahead of Barcelona.

What is the Ballon d'Or?

The Ballon d'Or has been awarded 62 times - Cristiano Ronaldo has won it in 2008, 2013, 2014, 2016 and now 2017

The Ballon d'Or is voted for by 173 journalists from around the world.It has been awarded by France Football every year since 1956, but for six years it became the Fifa Ballon d'Or in association with world football's governing body and was awarded to the world's best player.

At Fifa's awards in October, Ronaldo was named the world's best male player and also named in the Fifpro World XI.

Ballon d'Or winners: Ronaldo & Messi dominate since 2008

2008       Cristiano Ronaldo             Lionel Messi                  Fernando Torres

2009        Lionel Messi                     Cristiano Ronaldo          Xavi

2010        Lionel Messi                      Andres Iniesta               Xavi

2011        Lionel Messi                      Cristiano Ronaldo          Xavi

2012        Lionel Messi                      Cristiano Ronaldo          Andres Iniesta

2013        Cristiano Ronaldo              Lionel Messi                 Franck Ribery

2014        Cristiano Ronaldo              Lionel Messi                 Manuel Neuer

2015         Lionel Messi                      Cristiano Ronaldo         Neymar

2016        Cristiano Ronaldo              Lionel Messi                  Antoine Griezmann

2017        Cristiano Ronaldo               Lionel Messi                 Neymar